We’re Moving!

WordPress informed me that it’s been almost three months since my last post. Jeez, I’m so bad at keeping at this! I love it though, especially going back and reading what I’ve written through the years. And so much has happened since my last post! I think the gist of it can be summed up in five words:

We’re moving to New York.

Yes, that’s right! We are leaving Seattle and moving across the country to a new city. And not just any new city: the biggest one in the US, and arguably the coolest! Davis got an opportunity within his company and will be working out of the NYC office, so we’re headed to the Big Apple. And when I say “we’re moving”, I don’t mean it’s going to happen in a few weeks. I mean we’re moving right now.

See, this whole thing has been brewing for a couple months, and after thinking about it and planning and packing as best we can, we’ve pulled the trigger. While I’m writing this, movers are in our apartment packing us up. I’m seated on the couch, trying not to get in the way but here if they need me. I feel so lucky that Davis’ company is helping us with this – I don’t know how we’d do a cross-country move otherwise.

I told my company about the move and am lucky enough to have the opportunity to work remotely, which I’m grateful for. Davis had to go to NYC for work a few weeks ago and found us an apartment while he was back there (in East Village! It’s gonna be awesome!). I’ve been running around like a chicken with my head cut off trying to get ready. We’ve packed the clothes and things we’re going to need for the next two weeks in a couple suitcases so that we have stuff to live with while most of our belongings are making their way across the country. I’m shipping my car to my brother this weekend (because who wants a car in NYC?). We’re well into saying our goodbyes here too, and that’s been tough. I think the hardest will be Davis’ family, who we’re staying with for the next couple days while we wrap things up here.

I just, I can’t believe we’re actually doing this! It’s starting to hit me as our living room is drained of our belongings and fills up with boxes. In a few hours, the place that was home for two years will be empty.

IMG_0963

(And my goodness, the movers are so efficient! They’ve been here for an hour and packed what would have taken me a whole weekend to do!)

So needless to say, I feel like I will have a great amount of source material and things to write about going forward! I hope to make my blog what it was when I was in Italy a few summers ago, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

