Tom Hanks

Davis and I have a bit of an obsession with Tom Hanks.

(Wow, that sounds a little creepy. I don’t mean it in a stalker-scary way, I promise!)

It’s just that, wow, that man’s amazing. Serious films, rom-coms, animated flicks, you name it, he’s done it – and done it well. So many of our favorite movies have him in it: Sleepless in Seattle, Toy Story, Saving Private Ryan, You’ve Got Mail, Philadelphia, Apollo 13 – the list goes on and on. I loved his performance as Walt Disney in Saving Mr. Banks, and the end of Captain Phillips moved me to tears.

And you know what I think I like most about him? He seems like a real, down-to-earth person. He talks with his fans – takes pictures with them, writes them letters, pulls (nice) pranks on them. He seems so truly good and so grateful. That’s how I’d want to be if I were ever famous.

(Oh, and he’s in love with his wife. Which is awesome. Go love!)

We talk about it sometimes in the hypothetical – what it’d be like to meet him. I’ve been lucky enough to see him in real life once – I was 11 or 12 when they filmed part of Catch Me If You Can near my house and my neighbors and I got to watch for a bit (and he was there). But to actually be able to talk to him would be so cool!! Even after discussing it a number of times, we still have no idea what we’d say to him. Somehow I’m not satisfied with “Hiiiiiiiiii I’m your biggest fan….. *freak out*” unless the “biggest fan” part would be in That Thing You Do! form.

Anyway. We really like Tom Hanks. I feel like the possibility of this happening is so slim that saying this is ridiculous, but: Tom, if you’re ever in Seattle, you should come hang out with us! We’d love to take you out to dinner. We promise we’d be cooler and less fangirl-ish than we are here 😛

Leave a Reply

