Speaking Italian

This inner happiness comes over me when I see something in Italian.

The flow of the sounds in the words – it’s just so beautiful. The i’s and e’s at the end. The way the syllables roll off my tongue, lifting at just the right moment. It’s a language filled with life and love that is far different than the blunt English words I speak every day.

I want nothing more than to be able to speak and understand these beautiful words. I want to travel the country of Italy again, trying new foods and speaking to the people in their native tongue. Everything about that place is just full of life in ways I have never experienced anywhere else.

I need to motivate myself to learn. I need to find a language partner, to speak it whenever I can. My goal is to become more proficient before visiting again next summer for our honeymoon.

Oh Italy, why must you be so far away?

Leave a Reply

