Back in the Swing of Things

Life’s starting to look kind of normal again.

My broken arm (and, subsequently, my cast) severely slowed down the momentum of my life. I was improving myself at a pretty steady pace: going to the gym three or four times a week, trying to wear contact lenses, eating right, planning my wedding. Things were going pretty awesome for me, if I do say so myself. And then, the hiccup: the fall, the cast, and the six weeks of struggling to do basic things for myself. I don’t want a pity party – I tried to stay as far away from those as I could with my wrist in a full-arm splint and my rolly-backpack – but ultimately, it did kinda suck at times. I did learn to cope – I got pretty good at washing my hair one-handed and taking engineering notes via computer. But now that the cast has come off, I’m reveling in my freedom and also starting over.

The funny thing with exercise is how quickly you slip back into your old ways once it’s taken out of the picture. I was feeling great about myself towards the end of last quarter, and quite the opposite when this one started. I couldn’t really cut fruit or cook for myself, so I bought quick, easy, and rather unhealthy food for myself simply out of necessity. Add my pneumonia to the mix and, well, my pantry shelf can vouch for the vast collection of cookies, crackers, and chips that accumulated over the past few months. Now that I’m better, I want to minimize my intake of junk food and start cooking with fresh fruits and vegetables more often. That’s my goal, at least; I still have a box of saltines and a bag of animal cookies slowing the process down, but I’m trying!

And the gym! I’ve rediscovered my – well, not quite my love for it, but at least my appreciation that it’s back in my life. I’ve gone three times this week (yes!) and figured out how to entertain myself while sweating away on the ellipticals: bridal magazines! Add the fact that “Say Yes to the Dress: Atlanta” was on today, and the time was far from miserable and just flew by. (when a second episode came on, I had to pull myself away from the machine so I’d have time to get stuff done at home this afternoon)

I was given a quote at the beginning of the year during the orientation program that Davis and I led. It reads, “What you want to be eventually, you must be every day. With practice, the quality of your deeds gets down to your soul.” (Frank Crane) This has been what has propelled me this year: I’m not going to get where I want to go unless I start working on it now. Even though I feel as though I’m starting over, I can still get there. I can eat right, exercise more, wear my contacts, become the person I want to be. While the end goal seems so far away, it’s within my reach – I just need to take the steps to get there.

So wish me luck! Slowly but surely, I’m getting back on track to becoming the person I want to be.

Leave a Reply

