Running?

There is so much in life that I want to do.

Like become fluent in Italian, practice yoga, run a half marathon. These are my current goals, the things that have caught my eye simply because they all seem awesome. So I’m going to do them!

And two of these seem to fit with me, but one… not so much. I know what you’re thinking (Mom!) – I am no runner. I never have been. Running makes me feel wheezy and gross and very very unathletic. So where’s this idea that I should run a half marathon coming from?

I’ll tell you exactly where it starts: the Nike Women’s Marathon was this past weekend. And I’d never thought anything of it before (have I mentioned that I’m not a runner?) but a lot of the girls in my major actually went and finished. And everyone who did felt really good and looked really good too! Plus you get a Tiffany’s necklace at the end… who wouldn’t want that?!

So here’s what I’m proposing to, well, myself, I guess: I’m not saying I run the whole half marathon. Heck, I’d be happy with just walking the darn thing – all I want to do is finish it. And that’s a whole year away, a whole year that I have to get myself in shape to do that. And by getting myself in shape for that, I’d be getting myself in shape for something else: my wedding. So why not try, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

