Take Pride in Who You Are.

Who am I? This is a question I’ve been asking myself for the past three weeks, if not much, much longer. Inspired by a very recent conversation with my friend Jonathan, I feel the need to make a list of things I use to identify myself – the things that, I’m proud to say, make me me. So here you go – Sarah in a nutshell.

  • Friend
  • Sister
  • Daughter
  • Girlfriend
  • Lover of life and bright colors – for me these things go hand-in-hand
  • Optimist
  • Nerd
  • Chef
  • Writer
  • Harry Potter fan
  • Engineer
  • Food enthusiast
  • Believer in God
  • Music lover
  • Movie-watcher
  • Bookworm
  • Avid learner
  • Italian student
  • How I Met Your Mother addict
  • Avatar: The Last Airbender fan
It’s important for me to embrace these things, to not waver when I tell people who I am and what I stand for. I’m aware this list might change slightly over time, but I want to remind myself that I can and should always be my true self instead of being what others want me to be. I don’t want to change for anyone. I want to be me.
So now I ask you: who are you?
Leave a Reply

