Ladies and Gentlemen:

My jeans still fit.

Which says to me, “Good job, Sarah! You’ve done well so far and haven’t gained any weight from eating all the deliciousness that the wonderful land of Italy has presented to you!”

For this I’m really proud of myself. I’m trying not to be overly concerned about weight while being here – I mean, I don’t get to be in Italy every day, so I want to take advantage of everything (including food) that this place has to offer. But I do want to be conscious of it. I feel like I’m doing a great job eating the right amount, and exercising with walking afterwards. And if I come back a few pounds heavier, I’m not going to be disappointed with myself. I’m kind of looking forward to exercise more at home. I really want to try yoga – any other takers out there? 🙂

In other news, today has been a fantastic day so far. Not only did my jeans fit, but I wore a pretty awesome outfit with them if I do say so myself. I felt pretty American going to class in my red-and-blue-striped sweater, white t-shirt, jeans, and TOMS, but I was kind of okay with it. I dominated my Italian midterm, and by “dominated” I mean “rocked,” or “really blew it out of the water,” or “kicked its sorry ‘esame’ butt all the way to martedì prossimo”  – she graded them right afterwards, and I don’t know if I’ve ever gotten 100% on a college exam before. 😀 I can’t deny that I’m pretty proud of myself for doing so well. Afterwards I sat in on a guest speaker for another class. The man who came to talk is a car designer, who was pretty cool. Then I came home and made myself lunch and realized why Italians don’t save leftovers. They don’t seem to believe in microwaves in this country, so trying to reheat sausage and pasta in a pot on the stove is really really hard! I don’t think I’m going to be taking my microwave at home for granted anymore. I have dinner plans with friends tonight at Samuel’s house, and between then and now I’m hoping to read a little and maybe do Italian homework or pack for our group trip to the Italian Riviera tomorrow.

But first, I’m off to get gelato. it’s a beautiful day in Torino, and there’s never been a better time for a little ice cream. 🙂

One response to “Ladies and Gentlemen:

Leave a Reply

