Food!

Today was nonstop for me. Class, then bank, then store, then home for just long enough to cook myself lunch, then language lab, then back home again for a bit of a breather, then cooking class, then home. It just flew by – I don’t know where it went! – but I feel pretty accomplished nonetheless.

I feel like I’m starting to get a grasp on Italian. By no means am I good, or even good enough to carry on a conversation without stopping and giving my conversation partner a blank stare for a couple seconds, but I definitely think I’m improving.

And tonight’s cooking class was to die for. We made gnocchi from scratch – it was sticky and gooey and oh-so-delicious – accompanied by three different kinds of sauces in the colors of the Italian flag. Combine that with cotolette alla milanese (the Italian version of weinersnitchel), moscato d’asti, and tiramisu for dessert, and I was practically waddling home. There was so much goodness going on with this meal, I really can’t accurately describe it. Hopefully I’ll get the opportunity to make it again – while it was definitely labor-intensive, it was so worth it.

Now I’m really tired. I successfully finished my homework and showered, so I think I’m going to call it a night a little earlier than usual. Bella notte, e ci vediamo domani!

Leave a Reply

