Adventures at the River Po

Tonight my friends and I explored around the Po River and went to dinner down there. I had heard the area was beautiful, but I didn’t really understand it until I saw it for myself. The place we went to was very calm, with restaurants scattered here and there. There were trees on the other side of the river, and old old buildings dotting the surrounding area. That’s something I really like about Europe: modern and ancient share the same space. I’ve seen old statues next to new-ish roads. There are huge sculptures and buildings from centuries ago in the middle of a square surrounded by shops that sell the latest this or newest that. We don’t really have this in America, just because we’re not old enough to (except in Washington, DC, which is what I’ve found myself comparing here to sometimes… except things are SO much older in Europe!). I got some pretty cool pictures while there, including this one:

The sky is so big here. It just seems to go on for forever. And the clouds! The clouds!! The above photo kind of demonstrates what I’m talking about, because they really are picture-perfect. I was musing about the sun today too, because it gets dark so much later here than anywhere I think I’ve ever been before. This must mean it moves slower in the sky than it does at home… I dunno, I think that’s really cool!

Dinner tonight was also straight out of a perfect Italian movie, minus the restaurant’s music selection (which included remixes of Norah Jones, Barry White, and Keane… I dunno quite what they were going for, but it didn’t really feel right). There were red-and-white checkered tablecloths and waxy red candles and even tealights lining the staircase to the next floor. The waiters were really nice and the food was homemade pasta and pizza – multo buono!

Today I also decided to add more to my travelling shoes. I’m decorating them with the names of the places I go in them, and I’m at five places so far! I think they look pretty cool myself:

They currently say “Torino” (really big over both shoes, as you can see), “Lake Maggiore,” “Piedmont,” “Frankfurt,” and the name of the airport I left from. Yay!

That’s really all I’ve got for now. Have a good week, and I’ll try to update soon!

Leave a Reply

