Dreaming

I had the best dream last night.

I was in Italy.

For the first part of it, I was at this house that I was deciding if I could rent out. I feel like my parents were there with me, but I don’t remember seeing them, so maybe they were just on the phone. The house had belonged to a couple who had fallen in love years ago. The man really tried to win over his wife, who was significantly younger (and I want to say was a nurse). While the house was empty, it was still full of furniture and memories. It really felt lived in. I wandered through it, talking to my parents somehow as I did. We were trying to figure out if we could stay there for a few days before venturing on our tour. The house was really nice, and I remember liking it very much. It was three bedrooms though, and for the two of us, we really didn’t need all that room. The master bedroom was beautiful, and I distinctly remember telling my mom back home that I wouldn’t need to buy a book light because there was a lamp by the bed (the other two rooms were quite dark, although one of them had Christmas lights strung across the ceiling!).

Then I left the house and went shopping with some friends I’d just made, who were all native Italians. There were four of them: two girls and two boys (and two of them were a very cute couple!). We stopped at this shoe store that sold what looked like lace-up TOMS which were brightly colored. Then we ventured across the street to a bigger shopping mall so that one of my friends could show me a tour-giving group that I might want to sign my us up for. The mall was much like an American mall (this, I know, will be different in real life) but it was outside. It was brightly colored and had stores in it that I recognized. (I have a feeling I got this from my recent trip to Las Vegas…) We talked to the tour people, though they didn’t have any tours immediately. But for whatever reason, I was okay with that. I was okay with figuring out how to explore Europe on my own. Because I wanted to. Really badly.

Two minor details I left out: I saw a nun wearing a name tag at the very end, which looked like it said she was from the town I’m from in America, but when I stopped her I saw that it actually said something else, and I was sorry for bothering her and sort of sad that she wasn’t a connection to home. Also, I remember purposefully leaving my cell phone at home because I couldn’t use it there anyway, but instead I carried my hairbrush around with me… why, I’m not sure.

I woke up feeling so invigorated about actually going to Italy this summer. I realize a lot of what I saw in my mind doesn’t actually exist, but I did feel the confidence I had there, and I’m hoping I can at least take that to the real place. I was skipping around everywhere in my dream, so excited  beyond all belief that I was actually there. I don’t think a smile left my face.

I don’t know what I want to “do” with my life right now, in terms of my career. A few nights ago I was floundering at this thought, questioning my major and what I was doing just because I didn’t see direction in my life. But now I realize that my dream for now doesn’t have to do with my major or career. My dream is to go to Italy, explore the world, learn and see new things. And one of the most exciting parts of that is that it’s actually going to come true.

Leave a Reply

