Full of Wonderful Videos and Noises!

Today was one of those days where I feel like I completely won at life. I know that sounds really arrogant, but things just went really well. I crossed everything off my to-do list – heckyes! can’t say that happens every day! – and even did a few extra things, like fixing my bike (the chain fell off again), vacuuming my room, and changing my text message alert noise (cue wonderful nerdiness: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ahTyGckSJqw it’s from Legend of Zelda. And it’s awesome.).

This was quite contrary to how I thought it would go this morning. And I must say, this is not at all how most Tuesdays-turned-Mondays go. (because of the holiday, today followed a Monday schedule… excellent.) Usually I’m stressed out and drained to the max by the end of the day on Monday, but not tonight. No, today I got to look forward to giving Davis his Valentine’s Day present as soon as I was done with class. I got him a map of the United States and some map pins, so that he and, well, me too, he said, can map out where we’ve been and where we want to go. I was inspired by an article I saw on Yahoo! about Valentine’s Day presents a few weeks ago, which had a similar idea… sorry, Yahoo!, but my version of the present was wayyy better. 😛 And the best part is, he really really liked it!

So anyway, about this morning: I didn’t sleep much last night, and one of the first things I learned about after getting up was the earthquake in New Zealand. One of Davis’s friends from the summer is studying abroad over there – we still haven’t heard from her, and I hope she’s all right. (I’ll be the first to admit to creeping on her Facebook every couple hours to see if any news has sprung up.) All I could think about on my early-morning walk to my 7am class was how incredibly lucky we are that the earth’s crust didn’t decide to move on us randomly like it did for them. I saw the sky, with the rising sun. I saw the apartments that I lived in two years ago, safely standing on the hill like they always do. I felt the ground securely beneath my feet, the calmness surrounding me. We so easily take for granted our world and how in tact it is. How it isn’t torn up by natural disaster or riots like those in Libya and Egypt recently or really anything else. Things, while never perfect, are still really really good. We shouldn’t forget that.

From that, really, the day got better for me. It turned into a productive and happy event. Davis sent me a song from Amélie, which we watched together this weekend. The song (and, well, the movie too) is sooooo good! It picked me up. I wasn’t able to turn it off while doing homework. Here, please go listen to it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CgYnRh8ACGQ I hope to play the piano like that someday too. Also, I finished and submitted my study abroad application! Huzzah! Hopefully I’ll be in Italy over the summer 🙂 Oh, and my history class was cancelled too. Which, of course, I didn’t remember until I was in the empty classroom… but that’s okay. I proceeded to read for class with Davis afterward.

I’m not going to bore you with more details of my day. At any rate, it was pretty wonderful. I feel like a good song (well, at least tempo-wise) to describe it is “Animal” by Neon Trees: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qY–Yu4kzz0 Why? Well, mostly because it’s the one that’s been stuck in my head for the latter part of the day. Oh, and one other thing: I’ve been listening to my iTunes on Shuffle recently, and it’s really fun. I should definitely do it more often. 🙂

That’s really all I’ve got. All I can think now is “Now press repeat” like they say at the end of Infinity on High (the Fall Out Boy CD) because here tomorrow comes… and I hope it’s equally awesome.

Leave a Reply

