Enthusiasm

There is most definitely an owl hooting outside my apartment. It’s a little too cool for words.

I made a simple yet awesome discovery today. While working behind our front desk, many of our Hall Council members trickled in to work on a community project of some sort. And the whole time they were in there, they were talking joyfully and laughing and having fun. It got me thinking that while I really wouldn’t like being on Hall Council because it isn’t my cup of tea, it’s something that they really love to do. And that’s when it dawned on me: it’s their enthusiasm for what they were doing that made it sound so fun.

Enthusiasm. It’s really the key to everything. The way to make work more enjoyable, to feel fulfilled in life. If you have a passion for something – anything, it really doesn’t matter what – you have the ability to do something awesome with it and allow it to change your life while also benefiting someone else’s. I know from experience that the times that I’ve most enjoyed my job as an advisor have been when I have been truly excited about what I was doing, and I know it showed. It made me work harder. It made the time fly by. It made me want to repeat the activity, to be an advisor forever.

And this, like I said, can really be applied to anything: future jobs, an extracurricular activity, your homework assignment (if you really are passionate about, say, Strength of Materials… which I’m not, unfortunately.). Doing these things is what really makes us shine. What I immediately related it to was some people’s enthusiasm for God. It’s one thing to go to church, do all the rituals and say all the “Our Father”s, but it’s another thing to actually put your heart and soul into it. Have you ever noticed that some people just seem to be radiating with their love for God? They just seem to be happier, truly content, and I get the feeling that everything will work out for them just because they have God in their lives. Also, they have no problem talking about who God is and what He means to them (as well as inviting people to church), which is something I’ve never really been able to do. And I’ve always wanted this kind of happiness for myself, yet I just didn’t know where to look.

But it’s not about looking – no, it’s about feeling. I need to feel this passion. I need to be this enthusiastic about it. Not force myself into a religion that I think may work, possibly, one day if I pray hard enough – no. I need to feel their joy, and to allow myself to do so. I need to let go, to try something new here, to not be afraid to completely throw myself into something that could be wonderful and just what I’m hoping to find.

So… yes. Enthusiasm. Passion. Life. I hope to put my heart into so many things, to not be afraid to fall so that one day I can soar.

One response to “Enthusiasm

  1. You make known to me the path of life;
    in your presence there is fullness of joy;
    at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.
    —Psalm 16:11

    God can give you this joy!!! Not just enthusiasm for a religion or a practice but for the God of the universe. How epic is that!? =) I’ll be praying for you to find enthusiasm for God and who he is and what he has done for you. Love you!

Leave a Reply

