Karate

I started karate this week, and by golly, it’s definitely one of the best things about this quarter. Due to the amount of human factors homework I have left, I can’t go into detail about it, but I’m still going to give you a quick list of reasons as to why it’s so wonderfully great.

1. I’m tired. And not worn-out-from-being-stressed-all-week tired (like I have been for the past two weeks). No, this time my body is physically exhausted – and it feels wonderful. It’s delightfully difficult for me to keep my eyes open, and all I really want to do is go to bed and sleep for a long while. The last time I was this tired was during high school swim season, and I must say, it’s been too long.

2. It feels glorious. Demanding? Yes. Painful? At times. Empowering? You bet. Standing there in the dojo with sweat dripping down my face just feels fantastic, especially knowing that I worked hard to put it there (and that I can’t take it away – we aren’t allowed to touch our faces during class). And the feeling I get when I finally have the chance to take a shower? Ahh, pure bliss.

3. My muscles are sore. Again, proof that I’m working hard and actually doing something fun and physically beneficial with my time. I love waking up in the morning and having slightly-aching muscles. By the end of the quarter, I’m going to be so fit…!

4. I want to practice. The only hard part is, I don’t know where to go to do that. I feel kind of funny doing it in my room, like I’m a little out of place. But I really want to get better and improve and hopefully someday advance.

My hope is to put everything into this class – to really give it my all. I know that it has the power to teach me so much and show me a new and different side of life if I take a chance with it and give it everything I’ve got. So I’m going to work hard. I’m going to train as hard as I can during class. I’m going to find time to practice. And, if I continue to like it this much, I’m going to pursue it once this quarter’s over.

But for now I’m going to enjoy it while it’s here. Yay, karate! I’m so excited to be learning you!

Leave a Reply

