One Thing I Learned Today:

Relationships get messed up when one person puts him- or herself before the other.

And this isn’t just romantic relationships – any relationship between two people can be hurt by this and will be severely damaged if this keeps happening.

At first I really doubted that this was true. I mean, isn’t everyone entitled to be selfish on occasion? Sometimes the right thing to do is to look out for yourself, isn’t it? But the more I thought about it, the more I realized that that philosophy is wrong and that the message above is absolutely right.

It’s unreasonable to think that we can (and will) follow this rule without fail once we realize it’s true, since none of us are perfect. We’re only human, and we’re all going to mess up with this on occasion. But what’s important is that we each strive to be this way, to think of others before ourselves and to put the other or the happiness of the unit first in our relationships.

It also comforts me to think that I am given yet another key to my own happiness by trying to live this way. Many things in relationships can be conditional, but so many more aspects are dependent on how you choose to act. If I can work with this and do my best every day to put others first, I can build and keep strong relationships.

(Thanks to Davis and his dad’s wisdom for this lesson!)

Leave a Reply

