The Amazingness of How I Met Your Mother

My conscience tells me to go to sleep now (seeing that it’s one in the morning and I have to be up around 6:30). I hit its snooze button and tell it ten more minutes, stop bothering me, I’m too busy writing.

I know I’ve talked a lot about how much I like How I Met Your Mother, but I feel the need to dedicate an entire post to this amazing show. I think the easiest way to do this would be to make a list of why I think it’s just so incredible:

– First and foremost, the characters. There are five main characters in the show – Ted, Marshall, Lily, Barney, and Robin. And while you can’t really identify with them all (nor would you really want to – I can’t say I’ve ever felt like Barney Stinson before in my life) you still become so connected to them all. You can see where they come from, and you really get a sense of who they are. All of them are likable and are just fun to watch. That, and you can relate to most of them every once in a while.

– Marshall and Lily. Now, I would put this as the main reason I like the show, because well, it almost is, except this wouldn’t be anything without the character development mentioned above. So first, a little more on them: Marshall is a pacifist. He’s usually calm and collected, and he’s really smart, dedicated, and funny too. He’s a lawyer whose dream is to help save the environment. Lily is full of life – spritely, if you will. She’s a bouncy, colorful kindergarten teacher who has a great deal of patience with her students and situations her friends get in. Together they make the perfect couple. They dated for nine years (starting at the beginning of college) before they got engaged and along the way never seemed to lose their love for one another. They compliment each other so incredibly well and just work well together. Everything about them is amazing: their ability to communicate, their openness, their trust, their honesty, their faith in and love for each other. They fit together like two puzzle pieces, and it makes me giddy every time they’re together. They also have the perfect balance of cutesy romance and friend-ness.

Now, I realize they’re fictional – trust me, I get it – but they give me hope for what I can have in my life. To me, they are everything a couple should be. They are each other’s best friends, and they love each other so deeply and are so close that nothing can break them apart. What I also like about them is that they seem to go through real-life issues. In season one, Lily struggles with her individuality and tries to figure out who she is. Later in the show, the couple goes through financial difficulties and their love pulls them through it. I have yet to find something wrong with this couple. They are my OTP (or, for non-shippers, my one true pairing).

– The real-life situations the characters go through. I started talking about this above with Marshall and Lily, but it isn’t just them who have this. Each character has problems, and while they’re often humorous, I find that I can relate to a lot of them. The issues usually have realistic resolutions too, and I feel like I can take note of how they handle each situation. Also, the problems that the characters face are things that I struggle with, and it’s nice to think that I’m not the only one with these issues. For example, in a recently watched episode, one of Barney’s friendships falls apart, which is something that happened to me in the last year. Because of this, I can relate to him better (which is usually difficult to do with Barney) and I can also see how he deals with it. (not that it’s always smart to take advice from a fictional character – obviously I use caution while doing this.)

– The fact that it’s guaranteed to make me laugh. The reason I started watching it tonight was because I had been reading The Shack by William Paul Young beforehand, which is (at least in the beginning) a rather depressing book. I wanted something to pick up my spirits before going to bed and I knew that this show was just the thing to do it.

– The cast. Neil Patrick Harris + Jason Segel + Alyson Hannigan = epic win. I love Ted and Robin too so so much – they’re just not as well-known as the other three.

I could go on and on about this show – trust me, I could, and I probably will in the near future – but sleep is calling and my conscience is nudging me once again. If you have the time to devote to five seasons of awesome (or even if you don’t) try watching How I Met Your Mother. You won’t regret it. (picture from http://www.dvdprostore.com/goods/22/How-I-Met-Your-Mother-Season-5-DVD-Box-Set-dvdprostore-2217.html)

Leave a Reply

