Yet Another Random Post

The past two days have been amazing, mostly because I’ve been doing things with myself.

Yesterday three of my closest friends and I got together to plan the road trip we’re going to take next month. We’ll be driving semi-cross-country to spend time with one of our other good friends… I can’t wait! It’ll be a journey for the memory books, complete with lots of sugar, good music, a limited amount of sleep, and of course fantastic company. I’m also going to do my best to take pictures and write while we’re on the road… while I know some of the trip will be pretty, a lot of it will just be empty desert – not terribly exciting, but I will try to find a tumbleweed and take a picture of it while I’m there!

In addition to planning, we ate a ridiculous amount of delicious breakfast food (and cheezy bread!), laughed uncontrollably for at least half of our “meeting” time, and created some new only-us-isms that are too amazing to try to explain. You should probably laugh right now.

Afterwards, I went to a Shakespearean play with my family, then spent the night at my friend Lauren’s house. She and I (along with our friend Jessica) stayed up to the wee hours of the morning doing the usual (see list of activities above), and then after sleeping til noon, Lauren and I watched Sex in the City for a few hours until I had to come home so I could babysit my neighbors.

A word on the show mentioned above: I really didn’t know much about it and had never seen it before approximately one o’clock this afternoon. And it isn’t that it’s particularly good, because, well, it isn’t – it’s more that it’s so incredibly ridiculous that it’s impossible to look away. It was fun making comments to each other about how stupid the women’s logic is during some parts of the show. I mean, it’s just fun to watch as long as you (obviously) don’t take it too seriously.

I’ve also been going to the gym more, which really makes me happy. I feel really good after I work out!  I think that this summer’s really starting to take shape. I’m reading a lot, I’m learning about myself and God, I’m catching up on TV shows and vegging a bit, I’m exercising… I’m putting effort into feeling really good about myself and it’s working, and I’m really proud of that.

One other quick little thing: I love it when you know a person so well that you can (and do) talk to them about anything. Lauren and I have started discussing what we believe, and it’s really cool to be able to have these conversations with her. We’re in relatively the same place in our lives with this topic, so it’s like we’re struggling together. Having this is really comforting for some reason.

I’m hoping to write something creative soon, not just random “What I Did Today” thoughts, so look forward to that in the future. Thanks for reading for now!

Leave a Reply

