Accomplishments

I feel like my perspective on things changed a little today. Definitely not drastically, but they did change.

Why? Because I’m starting to see things not as a waste of time, but as accomplishments.

Let’s face it: I don’t have a lot to do this summer. I don’t have a job, I don’t need to fill out applications for something, I’m not constantly travelling or babysitting or, you know, doing something “exciting” with my life. I’m taking one online summer school course. That’s about it.

But that doesn’t mean that my life is pointless. Sure, I may spend a great deal of time watching movies or playing video games or surfing the Internet, but those activities – contrary to my previous beliefs – aren’t a waste of time. I can view them as accomplishments.

I’m well-known with my family and friends for making lists; it’s something I’ve done since I was little before I even really knew what a list was. So naturally I made lists of things I want to do this summer, of books I want to read, of TV shows I want to watch, of other ways to spend my time. Since these are conscious things that I thought about and decided would make me happy, anything that gets me closer to fulfilling these goals can be seen as accomplishments. (so I made a list of those too, just to reassure myself of that when I’m feeling down) So what if I spend a few hours of one day playing Legend of Zelda? It brings me joy and – what’s that? – leads me closer to my goal of completing Ocarina of Time. The same thing goes for rewatching episodes of Avatar: The Last Airbender or spending all day reading a book for fun. Sure, it’s not “productive” – it isn’t getting anything of superb importance done. But it’s making me happy and it isn’t hurting anyone else – so why not?

I want to enjoy this summer. I worked hard this year and think I deserve a break, but I do want to enjoy every day that I have off and not just waste my time. I think one of the first steps to doing that is to find accomplishment in the little things I do and to feel good in the decisions I make.

I also think it’s important to look not only at the big picture but at the individual parts of the goal. Most of my said accomplishments can’t easily be finished in one day (just like almost anything in life) so instead of getting discouraged that I “didn’t get anything done,” I want to focus on the fact that I finished a few steps and am closer to accomplishing something bigger. (This goes for to-do lists too. Even if you still have things to do at the end of the day, see that you did accomplish something, not that you didn’t finish everything.)

I challenge you with this: accomplish something every day. I think it’ll make you a happier person.

(Yes! I’ve written something post-worthy… mission accomplished!)

Leave a Reply

