In The Aeroplane Over The Sea

I’m really excited: I accidentally discovered an amazing song in my library.

(Yes, I do have music on my computer that I am unaware of… sad but true… I am trying to fix that though!)

I went searching for another song and this one popped up too. As soon as it started playing I was hooked and just couldn’t turn it off. I think this is the fifth or sixth time it’s played now… I put it on repeat. It’s called “In The Aeroplane Over The Sea.” The version I have is by Matt Pond PA, but I think it was originally by someone else.

Why do I like it? It’s just calming, it uses the word “beautiful” a lot (which I think life is), and it basically sums up the way I see the world right now. My favorite lines are:

“And one day we will die
And our ashes will fly from the aeroplane over the sea
But for now we are young
Let us lay in the sun
And count every beautiful thing we can see.”

It’s true: someday we’ll no longer be here. We’ll move on from this place, we’ll change, we’ll die. But that’s okay, because right now we should savor the moments we do have. I love finding all of the things that are beautiful around me, because life itself is so beautiful. Why not pause and look around? Why not lay in the sun, or just be (as my materials engineering teacher says) and just enjoy the moment, enjoy life? I don’t want to rush through life. I don’t want to reach the end and be disappointed because it’s over, because it didn’t go the “right” way. No, I want to love the life I lived. Sure, I may not have liked all of the moments, but I want to have enjoyed the journey as a whole. I want to take this instant right now and just be, just like it, just count all the beautiful things I can see.

If you haven’t heard this song, definitely check it out. Here’s a link to it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kved1R_CyP4

Leave a Reply

