Thoughts On Our Future

My friends Ian and Anna and I were discussing our passions, our interests, and our careers as students. We’d just come from the band concert, and I was feeling particularly inspired to go out and just try playing an instrument. “If I could do anything I wanted,” Ian said, “I’d probably quit this engineering thing and just study music.” “I hear ya,” I replied. “I don’t know why I’m in engineering, really. If I could do anything I wanted, I’d somehow study writing and music too.” “You two are crazy,” Anna said. “Music? Writing? No. Given the opportunity, I’d just cook.”

Isn’t it sad that we feel like we can’t really follow our true passions because we have to grow up to be respectful and get a “real job”?

I’m happy with the branch of engineering I’m in now – I mean, I get to work with people, right? And I’m getting this degree because it gives me something to fall back on if I do decide to somehow go into writing and it ends up failing. I want to make sure I have a job, and I’ve been told that you can do anything with an engineering degree, especially an industrial one. I really hope that proves to be true, because then I might be able to apply it to music or writing somehow. But for now I’d really like it if I could somehow study something I was truly passionate about.

I think I’m going to try out for Wind Orchestra next year. I’m going to find some way to practice percussion this summer and audition at the beginning of fall quarter. It’d be so fun to be part of something bigger and actually pursue something I think is cool. And don’t get me wrong – I’m excited about the IE classes I get to take in the fall. They all sound pretty cool, and I think I’ll learn a lot. But I do wish I could take classes in something I already love.

Leave a Reply

