Let A Thousand Flowers Bloom

I feel as though I have so much to write about, just not enough time to do it. The list of topics on my desktop has become increasingly longer, and I need to find a minute or two to express myself in words. My world has become crazy in the past few days, full of preparation for midterms and hurriedly finishing homework assignments… I haven’t been this busy all quarter until now. I’ll be glad when Thursday afternoon comes, because it will bring with it an end to these dratted tests and a roommate (and floor!) game night.

So for now I’ll quickly write about the song I discovered the other day…

It’s called “Let A Thousand Flowers Bloom” by Decoder Ring, the same band that created the masterpiece “Fractions,” which is still riding high on my Favorite Songs of All Time list. This newer song though is off their latest (albeit year-old) album, They Blind The Stars, And The Wild Team. I haven’t listened to this album much, mostly because I haven’t gotten it yet, but when I discovered that most of it is on their MySpace page I began listening. I’ve listened through the whole thing a few times, but I keep going back to this one song, the one I mentioned above.

“Let A Thousand Flowers Bloom” brings a sense of accomplishment and motivation with it, even from the opening notes. It doesn’t completely open my mind the way that “Fractions” does, but it does really make me think that I could do anything. It’s post-rock and progressive in more ways than one. I feel like moving forward, like trying harder when I hear it. It’s good for doing homework to – that is, until somewhere in the middle of it you realize you’re pulled in completely and just pondering life yet again. I would definitely give it a listen though… hopefully it will open up your mind a little too.

What I would give to see Decoder Ring in concert… and to buy a t-shirt of theirs, because I know it would be amazing. I have yet to find one on sale anywhere…

If you want to listen to any of their new album, go to http://www.myspace.com/decoderringsounds.

Leave a Reply

