Ubiquitous

I’ve come to the realization that God is everywhere.

I mean, I’ve heard this since I was little and have known and felt it my whole life, but just recently my eyes were opened to it yet again. God truly is all around us.

I started thinking about it tonight when I read a blog entry by my friend about how her friend’s dad seems to be everywhere for her. This friend of hers was her freshman little buddy when she was a senior, and every day without fail she would pass the girl’s dad driving up the hill to school while she herself was going down it. To make matters, well, more God-like, I guess, this man is old and very peaceful-looking, and he has a long white beard, so he really does look kind of like a physical representation of God. It became a bit of a joke with her, a conversation of sorts. Every once in a while she’d say, “Yeah, I saw my little buddy’s dad driving up the hill again yesterday, even though I left early for a doctor’s appointment” or “Her dad was on the hill when we left after our cross-country practice.” She even went to visit school a few days ago after coming home from college for spring break, and sure enough, when she left, he happened to be going up the hill at the same time. While this whole thing might sound creepy to some people, I don’t think it’s creepy at all. It’s just one of those weird little coincidences that’s kind of cool in a way, and it made me think about how God is kind of similar.

To me I see God as that plastic that meat is vacuum-wrapped in when it’s frozen. Yes, I realize it’s a weird analogy, but here’s why I see it that way: Imagine you’re that piece of meat. The plastic completely covers and surrounds you, and there’s no getting out of it, just like there’s no getting away from God. It is everywhere for you, and it works to trap in the cold, which gets inside and is part of you, just like God is part of everyone.

God is truly everywhere. No longer is he the big scary-looking man painted on church ceilings around the world. He doesn’t exist far away from us, only watching and letting us live without any interference from him at all. Instead, he is right here with us. He is in every molecule of air, which (just like the frozen-meat plastic) surrounds us completely and makes it impossible to escape him. He fills our insides too, so not only is he around us, but he’s in us, too.

To me, God is love. Anything and everything that that has life and/or has somehow known love has God in it. God is life, and God is anything that takes your breath away. I really think that we are not alone, and that God truly is everything.

He’s in everything, too. He’s it the sunsets we watch, the grass we lay on, the air we breathe. He’s in the music we listen to, the hugs we give and receive, the smiles that change our days for the better. He’s in all the little things as well as the big things too.

God is responsible for what happens in the world. I’m not sure if I really believe in the idea of “predestination” or not, but I do know this: there are too many coincidences in the world for them to all be purely coincidental. Life on Earth alone is an example of that. I’ve also found this to be true in my life. Some of the paths I’ve crossed on my journey could not have just happened by chance. I’m starting to think it wasn’t luck that brought some of my friends and I together, including my boyfriend and me. I think God somehow planned it that way, planned for us to meet, planned for me to be at the school I’m at, planned it all.

I also believe that this doesn’t really have anything to do with religion. While it is definitely a huge factor in religion, people can believe in God even if they aren’t “religious.” To me, he’s the beauty inside everything, something that can be found within all. And isn’t it right to recognize the beauty in life and to attribute it to something bigger? We didn’t create the world; that was God’s doing. And isn’t it a wonderful world at that?

So why not celebrate him? Celebrate life, celebrate everything that we’ve been given. From the rain to the earthworms to the friends we have, enjoy and appreciate life, and remember that God, who made all of it, is there with you.

Leave a Reply

